After the long period of civil war, South Sudan must literally be built from the ground up: the road and rail network, residential and office buildings, schools, hospitals and other institutions as well as the entire banking and insurance sector require the greatest attention. The focus is on the donor community, the government- and above all, commercial investors.

South Sudan is an emerging market. Much has happened since the signing of the “Comprehensive Peace Agreement” (CPA) in 2005. The capital of Juba, for example, has developed a remarkable commercial center (something hardly imaginable a few years ago) but potential investors still need to be very patient because the government and other stakeholders yet need to create the necessary infrastructure.

The Government of the Republic of South Sudan (Government of South Sudan/GOSS) is very interested in providing a favorable investment climate in the country. This means a fast, streamlined and secure local and regional locus that is not opposed to investment, one that includes foreign companies in the country facilitating the relevant ministries and commissions. In addition, trade shows in which more and more potential investors participate can be organized.

The government has now taken steps to encourage investment in the country, including:
• Construction of the ‘Southern Sudan Investment · Authority “(SSIA)
• Adoption of investment laws with clear guidelines for investments
• Equal treatment of local, regional and foreign investors
• Adoption of specific legislation to support investment, for example: attractive tax regulations, protection of
industrial and intellectual property; credible guarantee of legal protection for investments; free disposal of profits and dividends; customs exemptions or minimal bureaucracy

Specific measures to promote investment readiness:
1. Policy of non-discrimination: foreign investors may invest in any sector or firm in South Sudan
2. Protection from expropriation: the government guarantees theprohibition of the nationalization of companies. In addition, no investor is forced to cede a portion of invested capital – legally or otherwise
3. Protection of intellectual property: the government completely protects binding intellectual property and related rights of all persons involved as well as investors. Trademarks, copyrights, patents, etc.,
are protected
4. Guaranteed access to public information: investors have unrestricted, direct access to all the laws and decisions of courts and other judicial bodies, and in dealing with public information centers
5. Repatriation of capital, profits and dividends: investors have the right to freely repatriate their money in convertible currency and to use the most favorable to tax options
6. Judicial resolution of disputes: investors have favored free access to South Sudanese courts, and as an alternative may also choose to use internationally recognized dispute resolution procedures

Nach der langen Zeit des Bürgerkriegs muss der Südsudan buchstäblich von Grund auf neu gebaut werden: das Straßen-und Schienennetz, Wohn- und Bürogebäude, Schulen, Krankenhäuser und andere Einrichtungen sowie der gesamte Banken- und Versicherungssektor bedürfen größter Aufmerksamkeit. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt bei der Gebergemeinschaft, der Regierung und vor allem bei gewerblichen Investoren.

Der Südsudan ist ein aufstrebender Markt. Vieles hat sich seit der Unterzeichnung des „Comprehensive Peace Agreement“ (CPA) im Jahr 2005 getan. Die Hauptstadt Juba zum Beispiel hat sich zu einem bemerkenswerten kommerziellen Zentrum entwickelt, vor wenigen Jahren noch kaum vorstellbar, doch potenzielle Investoren müssen noch immer sehr geduldig sein, weil Regierung und andere Akteure nach wie vor die notwendige Infrastruktur schaffen müssen.

Die Regierung der Republik Südsudan (Government of South Sudan / GOSS) ist daher sehr daran interessiert, ein entsprechendes Investitionsklima im Land zu schaffen. So geht es darum, eine schnelle, unbürokratische und gesicherte Ansiedlung investitionswilliger lokaler und regionaler, jedoch auch ausländischer Unternehmen im Land durch die zuständigen Ministerien und Kommissionen zu erleichtern. Darüber hinaus organisiert man Messen, an denen sich immer mehr potenzielle Investoren beteiligen.

Die Regierung hat mittlerweile konkrete Schritte unternommen, um Investitionen im Land zu fördern, unter anderem durch die:
• Errichtung der „Southern Sudan Investment Authority“ (SSIA),
• Verabschiedung von Investitionsgesetzen mit klaren Richtlinien für Investitionen,
• Gleichbehandlung lokaler, regionaler und ausländischer Investoren,
• Verabschiedung spezifischer Gesetze zur Unterstützung von Investitionen, z.B. attraktive Steuerregelungen, Schutz des gewerblichen und geistigen Eigentums, glaubwürdige Garantie für die Rechtssicherheit bei Investitionen, freie Verfügung über Gewinne und Dividenden, Zollbefreiungen oder ein Minimum an Bürokratie.

Zu spezifischen Maßnahmen zur Förderung der Investitionsbereitschaft zählen:
1. Politik der Nichtdiskriminierung: ausländische Investoren dürfen investieren und Unternehmen in jedem Sektor im Südsudan führen;
2. Schutz vor Enteignungen: die Regierung garantiert das Verbot der Verstaatlichung von Unternehmen. Darüber hinaus wird kein Investor durch Gesetz oder anderweitig gezwungen, einen Teil des investierten Kapitals abzutreten;
3. Schutz des geistigen Eigentums: die Regierung schützt verbindlich das gesamte geistige Eigentum sowie die diesbezüglichen Rechte aller beteiligten Personen und Anleger. Warenzeichen, Urheberrechte, Patente etc. werden geschützt;
4. Garantierter Zugang zu öffentlichen Informationen: Investoren haben einen uneingeschränkten, direkten Zugriff auf alle Gesetze und Entscheidungen von Gerichten, anderen Justizeinrichtungen und im Umgang mit öffentlichen Informationsstellen;
5. Rückführung von Kapital, Gewinnen und Dividenden: Investoren haben das Recht, sich frei zu repatriieren, ihr Geld in frei konvertierbarer Währung auszuführen und die für sie günstigsten steuerlichen Möglichkeiten zu nutzen;
6. Gerichtliche Lösung von Streitigkeiten: benachteiligte Investoren haben freien Zugang zu den südsudanesischen Gerichten und sind auch frei, alternative, eventuell auch international anerkannte Streitbeilegungsverfahren zu wählen.